as far as January Saturday’s go

February 4, 2017 § Leave a comment

my fingerjoints
by the wind were stiffened

yet with some hint of sun

in the grey my spirits

lifted with thought of winters ending 

with collar around face as bandage

I stepped

as lively as could manage out to the coop with water and feed

seeing tracks in snow leading 

to a few doe at the back of the lot

if not for that

nothing new to the day 

back inside 

I’ll hide from the woes that trickle without end across wireless

though tired I’ll read from a stack

leaning back in my chair

reworking the homestead in my head

until I sleep simply

for the sake of sleeping 
(c) 2017 Fred Whitehead 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading as far as January Saturday’s go at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

