the problem 

September 30, 2015 § Leave a comment

The Meters are syncopating

I’m tapping the knife

on the cutting board

a half made sandwich 

stays half made as the

song ends

and I’m thinking about

writing

not about what to write 

mind you

but the process 

the stitching of thoughts 

(borrowed stolen original)

wondering where to hole up

when doing so
wondering why I didn’t try

this morning when I

had a few minutes

or last night

between loads of laundry

or on Sunday because Sunday

was uneventful and nobody 

was around to distract me

so that’s what I’m wrapped 

up in while

spreading mayo and

layering lettuce

to music
maybe tonight 

after dinner and the garbage 

is put by the curb

when light moves away

from windows 

and the only sound I hear

is that of my breathing 

and the soft drumming 

of fingers on the arm

of my chair
(c) 2015 Fred Whitehead 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the problem  at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

