chain maker

January 14, 2014 § 2 Comments

I’m always sure to check all
of the locks when the season
starts to take on an umber hue

thinking, this year
I will keep the unwanted guest
out

by the calendar, I know, that his
arrival is due
so I listen for the chains

he is, however, good at silence and a pro in timing
I only know
when he has broken in
by the weight

each year
heavier by a link or two
harder to bear
slower to shed

I know I’ve
always eventually uncoiled
the burden,
leaving it for the chain
maker to gather
for his next visit

but, the thing is
I get so tired

I just
don’t care anymore

(c) 2014 Fred Whitehead

§ 2 Responses to chain maker

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chain maker at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

