I have to swing by mom’s

January 13, 2014 § Leave a comment

when I get there I’ll
let her know
that it was probably her
that pointed the deer toward
the flowers that you brought
to her last Sunday

he chuckled over his beer saying
that every single one was eaten and told me
how he followed the tracks
to the creek
up past the veteran’s section
and how he watched
it flow by for a while

I used to work that part
quite a bit, he said,
back when it wasn’t so full up

we both looked
out of the window
for what seemed like a long time

he brought me back
with
I guess those flowers
went pretty quick
I’ll get some more
this weekend

I know, I said
a slow reply,
yea

then we both
went back to the window
each seeing a different day

(c) 2014 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have to swing by mom’s at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

