Resuscitation blues

January 9, 2014 § 4 Comments

I suppose I should thank you for the life giving /
kiss and the pressure I felt on my chest /
that life restoring misgiving /
of mouths that I suppose I best /
think of as favor to be returned /
although, just how, I can’t begin to guess /
because truth is, I doubt I’ll learn /
anything by this second chance /
I’m likely to think of it as rest /
stolen from me, forced to rejoin the dance /
now, with the flight rebooked, /
the less I think about it /
the better, it’s alright now to look
for a natural exit, /
to appear down around the clock a ways /
while I figure out what to do with all of these unexpected days

(c) 2014 Fred Whitehead

§ 4 Responses to Resuscitation blues

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Resuscitation blues at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

