a step to the right

November 26, 2013 § Leave a comment

I thought I
would have had this
dance down by now

the steps looked so easy

I mean, the way the red shoes were
imprinted on my consciousness,
accompanied by arrows and numbers and big blue L’s & R’s

of course, the diagram only
covers the doings of the feet,
nothing was ever
mentioned of the body

so mine continues, more or less,
to flail awkwardly about
knocking over fragile bric-a-brac
invading personal spaces

in general,
making a comical mess
of things

now, for the record,
a lot of this carnage is due to
stress caused by the constant watching of feet –
and not just my own

so, if I seem disengaged
during conversation
it’s only because I’m
trying to predict where your toes
are going to be a second from now

knowing that if I adhere
to the directions of the arrows
there may very well
be hell to pay

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a step to the right at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

