shift work

November 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

as for myself
I took the morning

ending up at the boardwalk
eyes battling sleet
thinking about what was said

at first it seemed that
you got the meaning
but, I know
there are times when ambiguity holds more water than clarity
if nothing else
it buys you time

here I stand as
December waits to dock
watching
flocks of birds sweep the sky
my hands nearly
frozen to the rail
waiting for the gale to subside

I count gulls and white caps
as I think
about how long
it took me to shake off
my old ways

I carry a hope
that you will figure out
how to do the same

then peace will come

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading shift work at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

