for the moment

October 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

it was fine as far as yesterday’s go
the day before that was even better

then there was that Thursday
a couple of Thursday’s back when
I found a buck in the gutter –
one of those gold coin ones too
so I didn’t have to fret
over the possibility
of it blowing away before
I bent to retrieve it

but we are taught to live
in the moment
celebrate the right now

do you think
they mean
every moment?

that could be tiring, really
and we could never
grab a couple of beers with
an old friend and ruminate
about where all the
good times have gone

it’s nice in theory, sure
and I try, you must believe me

I wish you could see me now
spinning wildly
through the dining room
having twisted my already hurting
bum knee trying to avoid
the cat I didn’t notice
sleeping in the
square of sunlight on the floor

looking all the world
as though I’m dancing
some strange celebratory dance
and singing loudly

yes, that’s it

singing

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading for the moment at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

