classification: nearly extinct

August 11, 2013 § 3 Comments

there are some,
like Brontosaurus, who
are struck from the record
and conveniently renamed
for one reason or another

I want to slip back into
the stupor
I emerged from
go
back to
when I had bulk
and the luxury of moving slowly
through familiar places
where
the leaf was good
the water clean
I would
listen to the
first birds singing again
even if they didn’t sing
any better than I did

I was more of a tenor
than one would imagine
clear in tone
my eyes shone and
back then
my brain
was a perfect fit

now it seems to
rattle around a lot
too much room
under the hat that
polite society requires

and of course
there are the thumbs
I’m still getting used
to the thumbs

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 3 Responses to classification: nearly extinct

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading classification: nearly extinct at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

