beagle

August 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

if there is one truth it is this,
reality does not always cooperate

often,
when I’m thinking about
the fate of that dog
I feel a softening of the universe
and a warm breath
at the backs of my legs

I know he is not there
I will not be caught
spinning on my heels
to capture a ghost

the sounds of nails clicking
on linoleum are only the
drips of guilt
hitting the basin of my brain

it takes a while, even now, to
convince myself that
the jingle outside the door is
just that of wind chimes
coming from the neighbors porch
but that is all it is

yes, that must be
all
it is

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading beagle at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

