momentary transport

July 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

the coffee,
or most of it anyway,
stayed in the cup as I
made my groggy walk
to the beach
the mornings here,
devoid of
other vacationers,
is cleansing
if I may employ a term my wife
uses to
describe ridding ones self
of all the crap we tend
to collect
I try to remember where
Nantucket is from the
map on the cottage wall
and raise the souvenir cup
so that its
schooner is
on the correct heading
gifting myself
momentary transport
before turning back
in the direction
of breakfast

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading momentary transport at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

