outrunning the hounds

July 2, 2013 § 2 Comments

I see the kid on the corner
and I fear
he could never expect
to escape danger
dressed like that
I mean
what with his pants
belted at the knees and all
I am
convinced he will
topple at
the first hurried step
and be dispatched by
the jagged teeth of
an opportunistic world

doesn’t he realize
he is easy pickings
does he not
understand
there is always
some impending menace
whispering
from the shrubbery
devising the demise
of the slow and unbalanced

I may have become
older and more timid
still
I try to show
my concern for him
with my
tightly laced footwear and
my belt cinched
below my expanding middle
I hope that, like I,
he will
stretch properly and
stay limber and
work on his respiration

be on the ready
I try to tell him
as he waddles
up the street

easily outpaced
by those of my
generation
but that could just be
because we don’t have
as much time
as he
to
outrun
the hounds

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 2 Responses to outrunning the hounds

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading outrunning the hounds at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

