a story on Father’s Day

June 17, 2013 § 2 Comments

the segue in his
story didn’t
make a whole lot of sense
going from how he
finally got the big northern
he’d been trying to get
all summer,
out of the slow creek below
the cabin, to
the time John, Bill and him
drank their way from
West Memphis to Truman
before turning
his ’49 Ford
over in a ditch
but, I didn’t care how
these tales were stitched together
I had heard them before
this time, however I listened
and I knew that
one day the fog will leave
the eyes of my children
as I carry on, I will see them
smiling at the embellishments
and filling in the spaces-
expanding family lore

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 2 Responses to a story on Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a story on Father’s Day at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

