three blues

June 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

three blues

1:
a soft contingent of
slate hued yesterday’s curled
up inside my chest

2:
they just don’t build blue
like this anymore
so I do believe I’ll
hang on to
it for a bit longer

3:
it was this morning
when despair wiped
his feet on the mat
took off his hat and
nodded a cordial nod
I remembered that familiar smile
and tell me,
has an eye ever
reflected the slow blue
pulse of sorrow
like that
I don’t think one ever has

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading three blues at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

