scratching

May 25, 2013 § 3 Comments

I make sure that
I apologize
for my intrusion
as I gently
move her out of the nesting box
then, not caring who hears,
I thank her
for the egg

I tell her it will go nicely
with my whole wheat toast
and my homemade
strawberry jelly

there is confusion
and anger in her small
bright eyes, but
it only lasts
for the few seconds between
the kidnapping and the
filling of her feeder, then

the whole sordid affair
is forgotten and
we both go about our day

scratching
at our own patch of ground
clucking with joy
at whatever small treasures
we discover
hidden at our feet

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 3 Responses to scratching

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading scratching at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

