St. Augustine

April 23, 2013 § 5 Comments

we were there once
I tried to find
history playback
in the eyes of the lions

I wondered about the
outpost as she led
me by my elbow
toward the
old city

with its brass placards
its cobbled roads
its foreign made trinkets

next to the schoolhouse,
or courthouse,
I leaned on
the bleached planking,
souvenir shirts draped
over an arm,
watched domesticated
seabirds filching
scraps from cans
awaiting

her return
with necklaces adorned
with shells and sea turtles
and sand dollars

she asked my opinion
as I held them up
I answered with approval
as I imagined the lions would
with little sound,
a gentle nuzzle

I pawed them
into the white paper bag
with its blue lettering
and leaping dolphin
as she pointed at
some other bright thing
ahead of us
saying
that we should come
back again
someday

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 5 Responses to St. Augustine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading St. Augustine at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

