listening to animals

February 26, 2013 § 6 Comments

at first I thought
I was alone but
they were all there
reciting the liturgy of the universe
each in their own
particular vernacular
telling me that,
when I am done
I will just float away
and that I will
no longer have to haul
around the weight of
my mistakes
or worry about
living up to the
the archetype of some hero
shaped by some great epic
and I don’t know how
it was that I understood
all of this babbling
coming from
tree and brush but
I knew what they meant
when they told me that
I would no longer be
afraid of eclipsed suns,
things in
the corners of
unfamiliar rooms
or the unreliable
elasticity of time

§ 6 Responses to listening to animals

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading listening to animals at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

