have a better day

February 20, 2013 § 3 Comments

I realize that
this hasn’t been good,
has it?
and, yes
of course it could have
been different

you, for example
could have been
born thirty seconds sooner
or I
the same amount of time later

then our chance meeting
would probably never have happened

if I learned to pay a little
more attention
to the lights of this world
or more generally, the road ahead

and if you hadn’t been quite so
concerned with the chance
that your choice of
eyelid color may not be
subdued enough for your
presentation before the board
of directors this morning

we could have sailed
past each other
as we most likely have
uncountable times before
but, there is evidence
scattered all around us that
this is not
the case

so,
here is my insurance information, and
for what it’s worth,
when I’m not involved
in vehicular carnage,
I’ve been told
I’m fair to middling
in the dinner company category
so I wrote my number
at the top there

look,
here come the cops
to move things along

o.k. then
have a better day

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

§ 3 Responses to have a better day

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading have a better day at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

