who is this?

February 14, 2013 § 1 Comment

“who is this?”

I slide a photo of a guy
across the table –
about 25 give or take,
with a head of
dark wavy hair that he
held at a confident angle

he seemed
barrel chested
beer strong
his mouth was smiling
his eyes were not

pointing at it with his
pocket knife, he says
“that’s your grandfather”

he uses the knife to rotate
the photo for a longer look
then shoots it back across
“Kind of a prick, that one”

“hmm…” I say and
hold it up so I can look at
it and past it at the same time

just a quick comparison
before I toss it back shoebox
it came from

I grab my glove
I grab my cap
and my
grape Crush
and head outside
my chest puffed out
my head tilted
in the manner
of my kin

§ One Response to who is this?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading who is this? at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

