one ex-writer to another

February 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

where were you
when you forgot
how to write?

I know where I was
and exactly what I
was doing

it has to do with
this box, you see
and all the stuff inside it

these things
all of
these

things
taken out
and described for the world
time and again

taken out
and put back
and taken out
and… I was removing its lid
just as always,

you have to realize,
I thought I heard
the calling –
it was then that
I ran out of words

that’s where I was –
alone with a box
of familiar worn out things

so now it can finally rest
on a shelf
in the closet
next to the file folders
and the jars of sea glass

while I attempt
something new

(c) 2013 Fred Whitehead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading one ex-writer to another at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

