the simplest way to save the world

July 19, 2012 § 2 Comments

I wondered what exactly
that would be
on the T.V.
there was some ivy league kid
making a glorious shot
from the bunker
nine inches from the pin
he’ll take this round, easy
ensuring his investment banker
daddy a proud day up in the
clubhouse

I left it there, the crowd sending
their approval into the air as
my thoughts found their way
back to the saving of the world thing
I got up from the couch
and walked outside in my boxers
and laid down on my lawn
save the world from what?
from us I suppose
nothing simple about that
the tumor has threaded its’ way
in pretty deep

the grass felt better than
the couch so I stayed there
a while, watching an ant
that was surveying my belly
a sparrow on the telephone line
and the patchwork of
jet trails high above me

“afternoon”
I said to the shaking head of the neighbor lady, floating
disembodied, above my fence

yea, I concluded
nothing simple about it at all

§ 2 Responses to the simplest way to save the world

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the simplest way to save the world at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

