making a sail

July 15, 2012 § 2 Comments

systematically
I remove the sutures that
have kept my guts from falling
onto the trampled field

that links one invisible border
to the next and the next
on, like that
to the sea

I will use them to marry the
patches I have torn
from the banners of
lost battalions

eventually I will have a sheet
large enough to capture the wind
then, with my despair stowed
in a trunk , I will chart a course
for blue water and send
all of those years to the bottom
of some ocean trench

if doves find me
at the rail, wondering about it all
I will take from them whatever
branch they offer

and turn the wheel hard
towards home

§ 2 Responses to making a sail

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading making a sail at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

