when I wake

April 9, 2012 § 6 Comments

when I wake
about the only thing I expect
to do with some regularity
is to breath
everything else
is a crapshoot
I suppose you could figure
I’ll make it out of the house
and pull my shift at the job
but you never really know
what kind of
madness could arise
between the front door
and my truck
waiting like it has all these years
to groan to life with the
turn of the ignition
but, that’s the spark
isn’t it? the not knowing
you can’t outdo that particular
mystery
for now, I’m thankful for the breathing, I’ll judge
everything else
as it comes along

§ 6 Responses to when I wake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading when I wake at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

