another thing fishing does

February 28, 2012 § 2 Comments

8 ft. bamboo pole
12 or so feet of line
a cork a hook a worm
and all afternoon
to think of little things

like the old guy
that lived next door to us
he died on the table
undergoing a routine proceedure

did I say anything
to him that morning as
he left his house alone?
I’m sure he
waved cheerfully
“good morning there”
he may have said
“hi” I could have answered

the cork sinks below
the surface
a short tug
it comes back up a stays

as he backed his Buick
out, past the hedge where I was
trying to find the baseball that
got by me
did he look to see if I was waving
goodbye?
I might have
I don’t recall now

I set the pole down in the grass
pull a beer from the cooler
and raise a toast to the sky
forty years too late

§ 2 Responses to another thing fishing does

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading another thing fishing does at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

