cup runneth, etc

January 2, 2012 § 3 Comments

twice now
two times in four days
I got the cup down
set it on the cutting board
and poured coffee onto it

I say onto it
because it was, as were
my thoughts, upside down

I’ve been finding
myself making
repeated trips
up and down stairs
for something left
up when I needed it down
down when I wanted it up

lately
I rarely know what day it is
until I’ve been in it for a while
I don’t even care anymore

what is a day anyway?
little things slip out
of the grey
making way
for other little things
to enter like
unexpected guests

all pouring into me
until the day
I turn over
and it all spills off my back

§ 3 Responses to cup runneth, etc

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading cup runneth, etc at Fred Whitehead's Blog.

meta

